Skip to content
Marshall County Schools Home Page Banner
Picture of Sheila Blackmore in a blue shirt with light grey background

Marshall County Schools Assistant Superintendent Woody Yoder has announced that Sheila Blackmore has been named the 2021 Marshall County Schools Teacher of the Year. The honor is titled “2021” because this is the qualifier for the 2021 West Virginia Teacher of the Year award.

Currently, Blackmore teaches 5th grade at Center McMechen Elementary School. “I believe that learning should be fun and engaging,” explained Blackmore. “I find that my students learn best when they don’t even realize they are learning. I always strive to cultivate a positive learning environment so that my students can explore through questions, experiences and collaboration without fear of embarrassment.”

She has taught in West Virginia for 22 of her 26 years of experience in education. Blackmore began her teaching career at St. Vincent De Paul Parish School where she taught various grade levels from 1993 through 2011. She left to take the position of principal at St. John Central High School in Bellaire, Ohio where she led the school until 2015 to come back to West Virginia as principal at All Saints Elementary School in Moundsville from 2015-2017.

Blackmore began teaching in Marshall County Public Schools in 2017. Blackmore is committed to providing her students with a trauma-sensitive learning environment. She employs strategies within her own classroom that are trauma-informed, and is an advocate for trauma-informed practices in schools as a blog writer on the subject. In addition, Blackmore has recently written three children’s books that deal with teaching children how to self-regulate using coping skills.

She holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Elementary Education from Ohio University and a Master of Science degree in Educational Leadership from the University of Dayton.

Each year teachers and administrators vote a faculty member to represent their school as a county contender for Teacher of the Year. Then a committee, consisting of county office officials and previous award recipients, conduct interviews and choose the county winner.

Other Teacher of the Year nominees at each school included: Hanna Neely (Cameron Elementary School), Kasey Connor (Cameron High School), Amanda Vapner (Central Elementary School), Mike Horan (Gateway Achievement Center), Sarah Rouhier (Glen Dale Elementary School), Chelsea Madden (Hilltop Elementary School), Brian Noble (John Marshall High School), Megan Pintus (John Marshall High School), Tara Oliver (McNinch Primary School), Michael Triveri (Moundsville Middle School), Marissa Tucker (Sand Hill Elementary School), Renee Ullery (Sherrard Middle School) and Shannon Young (Washington Lands Elementary School).